CTAC Presents: Tumbao Bravo

    Event Details
    Presented by
    CTAC Theater
    Price Range
    $25 Members / $35 Non-Members / $10 Students

    Formed in August 2003 by reedman Paul VornHagen and conguero Alberto Nacif, Tumbao Bravo has released five critically acclaimed CDs of mostly original compositions that have been featured on all the major jazz public radio stations throughout the United States.   Winner of the 2005, 2007 and 2013 Detroit Music Awards for Best Jazz Recording and Best World Music Band, this combo has performed at all the major Michigan jazz/music festivals including Detroit, Lansing, Birmingham, Raisin River, Great Lakes Folk, Blissfest, Wheatland Dance and Ann Arbor to name a few.  

    The title cut of their 2009 Cd was used as a soundtrack for the USA Network TV show, Burn Notice. Five of their songs were also used in the soundtrack for the feature length romantic comedy, “Bride Plus 1” released in 2018 and filmed in Los Angeles. In September 2018, the band released their 5th Cd, “El Nido-The Nest” which was featured on many National Public Radio (NPR) programs including the top rated, JAZZ AFTER HOURS and Miami, Florida’s WDNA–a mecca for Latin jazz recordings. All band members have won or been nominated for individual Detroit Music Awards as well  teachers at U of Michigan, Washtenaw CC, Jazz Camps and music studios.  For the past 12 years, Tumbao Bravo has been presenting a  program called “The Rhythms of Cuba”  at numerous libraries throughout southeastern Michigan and the San Francisco Bay area. Other music  performance venues include Chicago, Toledo, OH, Windsor, CAN and Oklahoma. Presently, the band performs monthly at the stellar  jazz club in Ann Arbor called THE BLUE LLAMA  as well as the DIRTY DOG JAZZ CAFE in Grosse Pte Woods and the new LUCILLE’S JAZZ LOUNGE in Toledo, OH.  The newest band members include Armando Vega on congas and Kurt Schreitmueller on piano. 

    Paul Vornhagen--bandleader/saxophones/flute/vocal
    Armando Vega--congas
    Olman Piedra--timbales 
    Paul Finkbeiner--trumpet
    Pat Prouty--bas
    Kurt Schreitmueller--piano